Teachers role with Digital Citizenship

I used to believe that it was a parent’s job to teach their kids about the internet….until I had kids of my own. Weird how that happens, hey?

The main theme that has been weaved throughout most of my experiences with technology has been to basically find any reason not to use it. In theory, I love the idea of providing students with the opportunities to try new apps and tools, but they usually backfire on me because I don’t know enough about them and the kids use them for the wrong reasons. I also noticed that that attitude was trickling down to my students. We tried a jamboard using cell phones the other day and it didn’t work well. The kids were frustrated and asked me not to use jamboard again. I almost said yes, but then I used it as an opportunity to talk about resilience and opportunities. That’s the whole point of what we do, isn’t it? To use those little, insignificant moments to teach about the bigger, signficant things. We decided, as a group, that that jamboard sucked but that we would try again soon…and that I would also find a new app to try next time.

I did a little research about my role as teacher, when it comes to digital citizenship and found this website. This website broke down the elements of digital citizenship nicely, and gives teachers a good idea of what they need to do!

Image from https://agpartseducation.com/9-elements-of-digital-citizenship/
  1. Understand Dr Ribble’s key elements
  2. Help learners reach that same level of awareness – Easy peasy!

I love that this is very flexible interpretation of my role. It allows me to have a general idea of my scope and sequence, but also lets me follow the interests and abilities of the students.

A few key ideas that I feel are applicable to me are:

-Use blended learning

-Discuss key themes

-Work on digital literacy

-Be inclusive!

Image from Kathleen Morris’ website Helping Teachers create digitally literate global citizens

So I feel good about the what now I need to focus on the how. The infographic above gives a good explanation of a digital citizenship teaching approach. I was immediately drawn to number 2: Storytelling and our conversation on discord about Kara’s strange encourter on twitter. I feel confident in using each of these strategies, and I think that is what makes me feel so much more comfortable about teaching this content.

So to conclude, the teacher’s role for teaching digital citizenship is not very different from teaching anything else. Feel comfortable with the content and then get to it!

5 thoughts on “Teachers role with Digital Citizenship

  1. Your post really resonated with me and it reminded me of a Tyler Rablin tweet: https://twitter.com/Mr_Rablin/status/1358223195229200384. Trying new things is great! Being resilient is also important. But feeling the pressure to try all of the things and incorporate technology into every facet of learning is burning teachers out. Always remember that trying is important, and learning from our perceived failures is even more important. Good pedagogy always wins. Using teaching and technology tools that fit good practice is key. Thanks for the reminder! Great post.

    Like

  2. Good on you for trying Jill! I appreciate you sharing the not so great experience you had with the Jamboards. Pointing out that getting comfortable with content and getting into it is something that any teacher can get behind. Especially if you have ever taught in a rural school where that message will get you through everything from Kindergarten Phys Ed to Law 30… in the same teaching load! I am slowly but surely getting that message from this class – get comfortable, then get into it and play around. After all, early years education is based on play. Some days I would rather play with LEGO than FlipGrid.

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I also have a similar experience where children got bored in a classroom by using the demonstration method while teaching them in chemistry lab. Children also need some change as their minds want new things every time. Also the curiosity level of kids triggers them to learn new ideas and methods. My question is what method you usually use in your classroom to keep the kids engaged. Did you ever used Jam board again?

    Like

  4. Thanks for taking the time to share an example of what didn’t work with your kiddoes! It can be discouraging to try something and feel like it did not go well, but it helps to see that others have had similar experiences. You definitely turned that seemingly crappy feeling into a great lesson for your students. I also agree with your comment that “the teacher’s role for teaching digital citizenship is not very different from teaching anything else.” I think this is where we will begin to see more difference in digital citizenship education between classes unless a formal curriculum is created as the teachers that are comfortable will be diving in and others may be avoiding the topic.

    Like

  5. Hi Jill, I too use to think it wasn’t my job to teach digital citizenship. However, as I am learning and growing in this area, I am actually excited to share and teach what I know. Although it isn’t much, it is a starting place and we all have to start somewhere. I am excited to continue this learning and hope to help my own daughter have a better understanding of digital media. Great job on your lessons and the way to take those risks. I look forward to seeing your project unfold. Take care!

    Like

Leave a comment